Its about MOTION not $money.


It’s about MOTION, not $money.

I’m quite certain that you’ve been told by so many people that you need money to create your idea or build your startup. This thinking is all wrong. It’s about motion. The money will come with the motion.

My very very first actual MOTION happened in March of 2010. I posted an idea on Vworker.com, at that time called rentacoder.com One guy offered to do the project for $400.00 It wasn’t my startup, it was simply a piece of it.

At this point I had no idea where I was headed, but I knew I had to move my feet. I had to learn things, I had to get some motion. I knew that it was not realistic to think I would get anything accomplished for $400.00 but guess what? I was wrong. Boy was I wrong. This coder was writing a piece of the program in Java and daily I was thinking, I was drawing, I was making flow charts. My idea was evolving.

I spent months doing things that cost Zero money. I would load tweetdeck and search for the term ‘startup’ in the feed. I searched for ‘angel’ I searched for many terms and started following people that had startups. But I was in such a different space than I am now. My knowledge was so limited. I was LOST. I was in over my head. I knew that the cloud was going to be a big part of the future for any startup so I started playing around with Amazon EC2. Your thinking this all costs a lot of money. YOU ARE SO WRONG.

Over and over I did things that were MOTION. And it was not easy. Nobody is paying me for this motion. I am not getting a dime.

It;s hard

It’s lonely

It’s often sad and depressing

It’s 1am

It’s 6am

OFTEN and I mean often complete pieces of code and programs were thrown in the trash. GONE. never to bee seen again. The coder was often fired. Not 1, not 3, MORE. More. I tried so hard to not use anybody or get any enemies but it was inevitable that along my journey a few bad things would happen and all the people that have been involved have not had a perfect trip. I have made huge mistakes and done a lot wrong but guess what.

its m o t i o n

Its often s l           o                   w motion.

A day turns into a week turns into a month. Before I know it I look up and I’m older.

I just made a deadline for my startup. Actually I recently made 2 deadlines.

Deadline #1

Dec 31st 2012

This is the date my code features set will FREEZE. NO MORE options, no more new ideas. I am done.

And August 5th, 2013

Launch date for EVERYBODY

Is the software going to be ready? No. But is it going to be useful. Yes.

On May 5th, 2013 I will soft launch to 1000 people. At this point I will hit the road in Silicon Valley and See a lot of people. I know a lot of you already. I know who I have my eye on.

Start getting ready for me. I am getting ready for you.

I can hardly contain my excitement!

~ by Mike on November 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
Rob's Blog

Architecture, Enterprise Java, JavaFX, and the Netbeans RCP

The Meaningful Project

Quest to find meaningful work!

Pixel Duke

My name is Pedro (often called Pedro DV). I'm a Freelance Software Engineer and wanna be designer who loves interfaces

Tomsondev Blog

Tom's opensource development

Lowcostsleep

Discount Mattress Central Valley

Uwe's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend JavaFX.

mihosoft.eu

Programming, Art, Linux, Free Software...

Tom Taulli

Registered Investment Advisor Representative & Enrolled Agent

500 Startups

Startup Founder, Businessman, Poet, Father, Inventor, Adventurer, Art Lover

Feld Thoughts

Startup Founder, Businessman, Poet, Father, Inventor, Adventurer, Art Lover

Justine Musk

from the head of justine musk

John McAfee

Who is McAfee - The Official Blog of John McAfee

Illustrate iT Insights

Illustrate iT's Blog Page

JavaFX News, Demos and Insight // FX Experience

Sharing the Experience of JavaFX

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

THE GIRLS IN BOOTS

a style blog

